Is Rippling safe with your data?
Rippling
Rippling People Center, Inc.
Weak disclosure · high confidence
Rippling earns a D (46/100) because it leaves much about its data practices unstated.
Dealbreaker flag
- D1.4: you hereby grant and will grant Rippling a nonexclusive, worldwide, royalty-free, fully paid-up, transferable, sublicensable (through multiple tiers) license to copy, display, upload, perform, distribute, model, index, store, modify, create derivative works from, and otherwise use your Customer Data
#106
of 216 apps ranked
46
score · HR & recruiting avg 49
-3
vs category average
Rippling publishes a detailed privacy notice with enumerated data categories, named transfer safeguards and a CCPA opt-out, but its customer terms take a worldwide, transferable, sublicensable licence over customer data and the policy names no retention period and no AI training position.
What Rippling's privacy policy and terms of service say about your data
Broad licence over customer data
The customer terms require customers to grant Rippling a worldwide, transferable, sublicensable (through multiple tiers) licence to copy, store, model, index, modify and create derivative works from customer data.
No retention period
Retention is described only as "as long as it is required" with factors listed, with no number, no deletion timeline after account closure and no shorter window for AI interaction logs.
Training position unstated
The policy forbids customers from training models on Rippling output but never says whether Rippling itself trains models on user inputs, and offers no opt-out mechanism.
Rights and safeguards are conditional
Access, deletion, portability and correction are offered "subject to applicable law" and "depending on your location," and the named Standard Contractual Clauses safeguard covers only EEA, UK and Swiss transfers.
What the policy is silent or vague on
- Not stated: keeping user inputs out of model training
- Not stated: a way to opt out of training
- Not stated: whether training use differs by plan
- Not stated: your ownership of generated outputs
Rippling privacy rating
Details
- Category
- HR & recruiting
- Modalities
- text
- Processes biometrics
- No
- Policy last updated
- 2026-07-02
- Region scored
- Global / US-default
- Last assessed
- 2026-10-13
Documents examined
Other hr & recruiting apps
Each grade reflects our analysis of what an app states in its public privacy policy and terms as of the assessment date. It measures the transparency of those documents, not the company's actual data practices, security, or compliance. Grades are our opinion, offered for general information. Full disclaimer.