Is Freed safe with your data?
Freed
Freed Inc.
Weak disclosure · high confidence
Freed earns a D (47/100) because it leaves much about its data practices unstated.
Dealbreaker flag
- D1.1: we have the right in our sole discretion to use De-identified Data ... We will also link your De-identified Data with your customer ID and use it to customize and train our Platform
- D1.4: You hereby grant Freed a non-exclusive, worldwide, fully paid-up, royalty-free right and license, with the right to grant sublicenses, to reproduce, execute, use, store, archive, modify, perform, display and distribute Your Data
#100
of 216 apps ranked
47
score · Healthcare avg 34
+13
vs category average
Freed's policy gives clinicians a HIPAA business associate agreement, a 30-day retention option and a required-human-oversight rule for its clinical assistant, but the same terms take a sublicensable licence over customer data, allow de-identified records to train the platform without a choice, and reserve the right to change the privacy policy without notice.
What Freed's privacy policy and terms of service say about your data
Sublicensable data licence
Customers keep ownership of their data and output, yet grant Freed a worldwide, royalty-free licence with the right to grant sublicenses to reproduce, modify and distribute that data.
De-identified data trains the platform
Model training on identifiable data is gated on consent set in Platform settings, but de-identified records are linked to the customer ID and used to train the platform with no choice offered, and aggregate data may be sold or transferred.
Retention is a setting, not a promise
Thirty-day deletion is one of two options the customer selects; the alternative keeps data for the whole term of the agreement, and backups persist seven extra days.
HIPAA scaffolding, thin security detail
A business associate agreement sets a ten-day breach notice and a minimum-necessary limit, while the security section names only commercially reasonable measures and cites a HIPAA audit and SOC1 policy rather than a SOC 2 or ISO certificate.
What the policy is silent or vague on
- Not stated: keeping user inputs out of model training
- Not stated: whether training use differs by plan
- Not stated: your ownership of generated outputs
- Not stated: shorter retention for AI conversation logs
Freed privacy rating
Details
- Category
- Healthcare
- Modalities
- text, audio
- Processes biometrics
- Yes
- Policy last updated
- 2026-08-11
- Region scored
- Global / US-default
- Last assessed
- 2026-10-13
Documents examined
Other healthcare apps
Each grade reflects our analysis of what an app states in its public privacy policy and terms as of the assessment date. It measures the transparency of those documents, not the company's actual data practices, security, or compliance. Grades are our opinion, offered for general information. Full disclaimer.