Is Fathom safe with your data?
Fathom
Fathom Video Inc.
Good disclosure · high confidence
Fathom earns a B (62/100) because it discloses most of its data practices.
#25
of 216 apps ranked
62
score · Meeting intelligence avg 52
+10
vs category average
Fathom records and transcribes meetings, trains its own AI models on de-identified meeting content unless you switch it off in account settings, and refuses to let outside AI vendors train on your data, but it stores personal information only "for as long as necessary" with no stated period and reserves the right to sell personal information in states whose law defines a sale broadly.
What Fathom's privacy policy and terms of service say about your data
Training opt-out lives in your settings
De-identified data from meeting content trains Fathom's in-house AI models based on how you configure your account, and the policy points to a specific opt-out switch in account settings. It also states that third parties such as OpenAI, Anthropic and Google are not authorised to train on your data.
No retention period for meeting data
Personal information is kept "for as long as necessary" with no number attached. The only concrete clock is on exit: after an account deletion request Fathom says it will use commercially reasonable efforts to delete recordings within 30 days, and backup copies may persist for up to 30 days.
Sale of personal information is reserved
Depending on how a state's privacy law defines a "sale," Fathom may sell personal information to third parties, and opting out requires contacting the company. Meeting content and attendee information are carved out of this, and advertisers receive device information only.
Core rights are routed through regional law
Account deletion is self-service and the Global Privacy Control is honoured for everyone, but access, portability and correction appear as rights residents of the EEA, UK or particular US states "may have" rather than as commitments to all users.
What the policy is silent or vague on
- Not stated: whether training use differs by plan
- Not stated: shorter retention for AI conversation logs
- Not stated: marking of AI-generated output
- Only partial: keeping user inputs out of model training
Fathom privacy rating
Details
- Category
- Meeting intelligence
- Modalities
- text, audio
- Processes biometrics
- No
- Policy last updated
- 2026-08-16
- Region scored
- Global / US-default
- Last assessed
- 2026-10-13
Documents examined
Other meeting intelligence apps
Each grade reflects our analysis of what an app states in its public privacy policy and terms as of the assessment date. It measures the transparency of those documents, not the company's actual data practices, security, or compliance. Grades are our opinion, offered for general information. Full disclaimer.