Is Poe safe with your data?
Poe
Quora
Poor disclosure · grade F is 0–34 · high confidence
Scored 15 ± 5 (range 10–20)
The ±5 is measured, not chosen: re-running the grader on identical policy text landed inside this range for 96% of apps. Read a one-grade gap between two apps as noise. How we grade
Poe earns an F (15/100) because it discloses little about its data practices.
Dealbreaker flag
- D1.1: Developers that create bots and apps on Poe using APIs may view and store your chats on their servers to train their models.
- D1.4: you grant us a worldwide, non-exclusive, royalty-free, transferable, and perpetual license to use Your Content and Your Bots
- D4.3: We may share your hashed email with our ad platform partners for our advertising activities
#214
of 216 apps ranked
15
score · Assistant avg 49
-34
vs category average
Poe lets third-party developers view, store and train on user chats, takes a perpetual transferable licence over user content, and names no retention period or deletion timeline.
What Poe's privacy policy and terms of service say about your data
Developers can train on your chats
The policy states that developers who build bots and apps on Poe using its APIs may view and store user chats on their own servers to train their models, and offers no way to refuse.
Perpetual licence over your content
Using Poe grants a worldwide, royalty-free, transferable and perpetual licence over user content and user-created bots, and data collected before account closure may continue to be used after termination.
No retention period stated
Neither the privacy policy nor the terms name any retention period, deletion timeline after account closure, or shorter retention for AI chat logs.
Clear about the AI and who to contact
The terms state plainly that bots are powered by third-party AI models including large language models, each bot names its creator, and the policy gives a Data Protection Officer contact address.
What the policy is silent or vague on
- Not stated: keeping user inputs out of model training
- Not stated: a way to opt out of training
- Not stated: whether training use differs by plan
- Not stated: your ownership of generated outputs
Poe privacy rating
Details
- Category
- Assistant
- Modalities
- text, image
- Processes biometrics
- No
- Policy last updated
- 2026-03-19
- Region scored
- Global / US-default
- Last assessed
- 2026-10-13
Documents examined
Other assistant apps
Each grade reflects our analysis of what an app states in its public privacy policy and terms as of the assessment date. It measures the transparency of those documents, not the company's actual data practices, security, or compliance. Grades are our opinion, offered for general information. Full disclaimer.