Is ChatGPT safe with your data?
ChatGPT
OpenAI
Good disclosure · grade B is 60–69 · high confidence
Scored 60 ± 5 (range 55–65)
That range crosses the B/C cut, so read this app as B or C rather than firmly either. How we grade
ChatGPT earns a B (60/100) because it discloses most of its data practices.
#36
of 216 apps ranked
60
score · Assistant avg 46
+14
vs category average
OpenAI's consumer policy trains on ChatGPT conversations by default and offers an account-settings opt-out, gives working export and account-deletion controls, and names a data protection officer, but it sets no retention period, names no transfer safeguard, and describes its security only as commercially reasonable.
What ChatGPT's privacy policy and terms of service say about your data
Trains on your chats unless you opt out
Content you provide may be used to train the models that power ChatGPT, with an opt-out available by updating your account settings rather than being off by default.
No retention period named
Personal data is kept for "only as long as we need" to provide the Services, with no number of days, months, or years and no separate shorter clock for AI conversation logs.
Several rights are conditional on where you live
Access and correction appear as statutory rights you "may have" depending on your location, while export, chat deletion, and account deletion are offered to everyone through account data controls.
Security and transfers stated only in general terms
Protections are described as "commercially reasonable" with no named control such as encryption at rest, cross-border transfers cite "legally valid transfer mechanisms" without naming one, and there is no breach notification commitment.
What the policy is silent or vague on
- Not stated: a deletion timeline after closure or request
- Not stated: shorter retention for AI conversation logs
- Not stated: a sub-processor list or data processing agreement
- Not stated: marking of AI-generated output
ChatGPT privacy rating
Details
- Category
- Assistant
- Modalities
- text, image
- Processes biometrics
- No
- Policy last updated
- 2026-04-30
- Region scored
- Global / US-default
- Last assessed
- 2026-10-13
Documents examined
Other assistant apps
Each grade reflects our analysis of what an app states in its public privacy policy and terms as of the assessment date. It measures the transparency of those documents, not the company's actual data practices, security, or compliance. Grades are our opinion, offered for general information. Full disclaimer.