Is Snowflake safe with your data?
Snowflake
Partial disclosure · high confidence
Snowflake earns a C (57/100) because it discloses its data practices only in part.
Dealbreaker flag
- D1.1: operate, audit and improve our Sites, products and services, which includes training our machine learning and artificial intelligence models
#41
of 216 apps ranked
57
score · Data platform avg 47
+10
vs category average
Snowflake says it trains its machine learning and AI models on the information it collects and offers no way to opt out of that training, though customers keep ownership of the data they upload and get thirty days to retrieve it after an account ends.
What Snowflake's privacy policy and terms of service say about your data
Trains on your data
The listed uses of collected information include operating, auditing and improving the services, "which includes training our machine learning and artificial intelligence models." The policy names no opt-out, no opt-in, and no setting that turns this off.
You keep your uploads
Under the terms of service, the customer or its licensors retain all right, title and interest in uploaded Customer Data, and Snowflake's own right to process it is limited to what is necessary to provide the service, address technical problems, or comply with law.
No retention period
Personal information is kept "where we have an ongoing legitimate business need to do so" with no number attached. After termination there is a concrete thirty calendar day window to retrieve data, after which Snowflake says it will promptly delete it.
Advertising sharing, and gaps
Snowflake states it does not sell personal information, while disclosing that identifiers and device activity are shared with advertisers for cross-context behavioural advertising, with cookie settings and Global Privacy Control as the opt-out. The policy sets out no breach-notification commitment and no age gate.
What the policy is silent or vague on
- Not stated: keeping user inputs out of model training
- Not stated: a way to opt out of training
- Not stated: whether training use differs by plan
- Not stated: shorter retention for AI conversation logs
Snowflake privacy rating
Details
- Category
- Data platform
- Modalities
- text
- Processes biometrics
- No
- Policy last updated
- 2026-07-01
- Region scored
- Global / US-default
- Last assessed
- 2026-10-13
Documents examined
Each grade reflects our analysis of what an app states in its public privacy policy and terms as of the assessment date. It measures the transparency of those documents, not the company's actual data practices, security, or compliance. Grades are our opinion, offered for general information. Full disclaimer.